Value ₹10
Width 137 mm
Height 63 mm
Security features Security thread, latent image, micro-lettering, intaglio print, fluorescent ink, optically variable ink, watermark, and a see through registration device.
Years of printing June 1996 – present
10 INR Obs LR.png
Design Mahatma Gandhi
Design date 1996
10 INR Rev LR.png
Design Fauna of India — Rhinoceros, elephant, tiger
Design date


Mahatma Gandhi Series

The ₹10 banknote of the Mahatma Gandhi Series is 137 × 63 mm Orange-violet coloured, with the obverse side featuring a portrait of Mahatma Gandhi with a signature of the governor of Reserve Bank of India. It has the Braille feature to assist the visually challenged in identifying the currency. The reverse side features a motif of a Rhinoceros, an elephant and a tiger, all together as Fauna of India.

As of 2011, the new ₹ sign has been incorporated into banknote of ₹10. In January 2014 RBI announced that it would be withdrawing from circulation all banknotes printed prior to 2005 by 31 March 2014. The deadline was later extended to 1 January 2015. Now further dead line was extended to 30 June 2016.

As per an announcement made by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) in March 2017, a new version of the Indian 10 Rupee note will be issued soon, with better security features. The notes will be printed in the Mahatma Gandhi 2005 series. The new note will have an inset letter ‘L’, on both number panels, along with the governor’s signature. The year of printing will be on the reverse note side. The numerals printed inside both note panels will be in ascending size, from left side to right side.

Security features

The security features of the ₹10 banknote includes:

  • A windowed security thread that reads ‘भारत’ (Bharat in the Devanagari script) and ‘RBI’ alternately.
  • Watermark of Mahatma Gandhi that is a mirror image of the main portrait.
  • The number panel of the banknote is printed in embedded fluorescent fibers and optically variable ink.
  • Since 2005 additional security features like machine-readable security thread, electrotype watermark, and year of print appears on the bank note.


As like the other Indian rupee banknotes, the ₹10 banknote has its amount written in 17 languages. On the obverse, the denomination is written in English and Hindi. On the reverse is a language panel which displays the denomination of the note in 15 of the 22 official languages of India. The languages are displayed in alphabetical order. Languages included on the panel are Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

Denominations in central level official languages (At below either ends)
Language ₹10
English Ten rupees
Hindi दस रुपये
Denominations in 15 state level/other official languages (As seen on the language panel)
Assamese দহ টকা
Bengali দশ টাকা
Gujarati દસ રૂપિયા
Kannada ಹತ್ತು ರುಪಾಯಿಗಳು
Kashmiri دہ رۄپے
Konkani धा रुपया
Malayalam പത്തു രൂപ
Marathi दहा रुपये
Nepali दस रुपियाँ
Odia ଦଶ ଟଙ୍କା
Punjabi ਦਸ ਰੁਪਏ
Sanskrit दशरूप्यकाणि
Tamil பத்து ரூபாய்
Telugu పది రూపాయలు
Urdu دس روپے

Lion Capital Series

The 10 rupee banknote of the Lion Capital Series in 1970, had the Ashoka pillar and the banknote denomination written in Hindi, Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Marathi, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu on the obverse, and featured two peacocks and the banknote denomination written in English on the reverse.

Ten-rupee note issued by the Reserve Bank of India from 1937 to 1943.

Ten-rupee note issued by the Reserve Bank of India from 1937 to 1943.

The 10 rupee banknote of the George VI Series in 1937, had the portrait of George VI on the obverse and featured two elephants with the banknote denomination written in Urdu, Hindi, Bengali, Burmese, Telugu, Tamil, Kannada and Gujarati on the reverse.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *